Photo: Giuseppe Cacace/AFP/Getty Images
Japan’s comeback over Spain ended up giving the Asian team first place in the group and leaving the Iberians in second place, However, the match was not without controversy.
The second goal of the team directed by Hajime Moriyasu was preceded by a play reviewed by the VAR and where it can be seen that the ball goes out and Kaoru Mitoma continues until he takes out the cross that ends in Tanaka’s score.
The referee Víctor Gomes in principle had annulled the goal seeing clearly that the ball had come out. However, the VAR asked him to stop the game momentarily to check the play and when everything seemed that it would continue to be equal to one goal, the decision changed drastically and gave the Japanese eleventh 2-1.
Faced with this reality, the protests of the players did not waitr, but it would all be in vain because the goal would go up on the scoreboard and it would also be decisive in the game for Japan and Spain.
After the match Luis Enrique assured that today he had nothing to celebrate due to the result and asked about the goal of the Asian team, He stated that perhaps the image he saw was truncated or edited, emphasizing what was clearly the disagreement over Kaoru Mitoma’s controversial move..
You may also like
. Spain was overcome by Japan and reached the round of 16 as second in their group
. Animés star in the memes of Japan’s comeback against Spain in the Qatar 2022 World Cup
. The Costa Rican team loses 4-2 to Germany and both teams are eliminated from the Qatar 2022 World Cup