What are the 27 states in the United States that allow the death penalty in 2024?

What are the 27 states in the United States that allow the death penalty in 2024?

Written in TRENDS he

Throughout the history of USA, The Constitution has had certain changes that include sentences for people accused of crimes; However, what has not been abolished is the death penalty, which is currently still in force in more than half of the states. Although it is reserved only for serious crimes, dozens of people have been executed in recent years. We share with you the list of the 27 states where it is still in force and the statistics for the last 30 years.

Recently, the debate of the capital punishment in USA, This is due to the case of Iván Cantú, who will be executed this February 28 for the crime of double homicide. Although at some point this law ceased to be in force, in 1988 it was reinstated within the Constitution, both at the federal (national) and state levels. However, some states have decided to abolish it because they consider it an inhumane act.

Few crimes are subject to death penalty, such is the case of homicide, although this varies in each state. Today, all of the prisoners on death row who have been charged with this sentence were charged with this crime. On the other hand, statistics compiled from Statista show that in recent years executions have decreased since 2018, when 25 people were induced to death. For 2019 there were 22, in 2020 only 17, while for 2021 and 2022 there were 11 in each year. In 1998 he set a record number with 98 executions.


Where is capital punishment legal?

In USA There are dozens of prisoners who are sentenced to death for serious crimes, which are spread over just 27 state where this sentence is still in force. We list these states below.

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • South Carolina
  • North Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Mountain
  • Nebraska
  • Snowfall
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wyoming

Although they are part of the list, the governments of California, Oregon and Pennsylvania have granted moratoriums on all executions, this means that they have been postponed more, not that they have been pardoned in their entirety.

Spread the love