United States: the 18 women who have won the Nobel Prize throughout history

United States: the 18 women who have won the Nobel Prize throughout history

Written in TRENDS he

Throughout history, the Nobel Prize It has been reinforced as one of the most prominent at a global level and there are few who have the opportunity to be awarded and to do so they must have made great efforts and studies within their field. A few days before International Women’s Day we want to remember the work of the women recognized with this award in USA throughout history, so we have made a list that we share below.

The first edition of the Nobel Prizes It was in 1901 and since then they have been carried out every year with the purpose of recognizing a select group of outstanding people for their studies, efforts or discoveries. There are only five categories: Literature, Peace, Chemistry, Physics and Physiology or Medicine. Although in the first two years no woman was awarded, for the second (1903) it was the Polish physicist Marie Curie who became the first women recognized and that gave way to more being seen just like her.

Over the years, hundreds of men have been decorated, however, there have been only 65 women in total those who have managed to achieve this feat. only in USA 290 citizens have been awardedof which 272 have been men and only 18 of these were women, who went down in the annals of history thanks to their incredible efforts and who today are remembered for their struggle in fields such as feminism, suffragism, poetry, health and medicine, finance and sciences.

Marie Curie @nobelprize_org/

List of the 18 women who have made history in the United States

These 18 women Americans were awarded with the Nobel Prize and they will always be recognized for their great contributions to the world. We list them below.

  • 1931 – Jane Addams: Nobel Peace Prize
  • 1938 – Pearl S. Buck: Nobel Prize in Literature
  • 1946 – Emily Greene Balch: Nobel Peace Prize
  • 1947 – Gerty Theresa Cori: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
  • 1977 – Rosalyn Yalow: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
  • 1983 – Barbara McClintock: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
  • 1988 – Gertrude B. Elion: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
  • 1993 – Chloe Anthony Wofford (Toni Morrison): Nobel Prize in Literature
  • 1997 – Jody Williams: Nobel Peace Prize
  • 2004 – Linda Buck: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
  • 2009 – Carol Greider: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
  • 2009 – Elinor Ostrom: Nobel Prize in Economics
  • 2018 – Frances Hamilton Arnold: Nobel Prize in Chemistry
  • 2020 – Andrea M. Ghez: Nobel Prize in Physics
  • 2020 – Louise Glück: Nobel Prize in Literature
  • 2020 – Jennifer A. Doudna: Nobel Prize in Chemistry
  • 2022 – Carolyn Bertozzi: Nobel Prize in Chemistry
  • 2023 – Claudia Goldin: Nobel Prize in Economics
Claudia Goldin @nobelprize_org/

“Women came out of the shadows of the home to work in the market and make themselves and their families better off. Then they went all the way as their employment lengthened throughout their lives to have more meaningful work and even real races,” Goldin said upon receiving the Nobel Prize in 2023.

Spread the love